Allo' Expat Norway - Connecting Expats in Norway
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Norway Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Norway
Norway General Information
Norway Expatriates Handbook
Useful Numbers
Immigration Information
  Entry Visa
Work Permit
Norway and Foreign Government
Norway General Listings
Norway Useful Tips
Norway Education & Medical
Norway Travel & Tourism Info
Norway Lifestyle & Leisure
Norway Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Norway Immigration Information Entry Visa


The general rule is that all foreign nationals require a visa to visit Norway. However, there are some exceptions to this requirement.

As part of the Schengen Agreement, there are no passport controls when travelling between countries which have signed up to the agreement. Citizens of these countries may therefore enter Norway freely, without having to apply for a visa. The same applies to foreign nationals who have a residence permit for one of the Schengen countries. The 15 member states are Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

It should be noted that European countries such as Ireland, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom are not parties to the agreement.

Countries Exempted from Visa Requirement

A visa is not required for nationals of countries with which Norway has signed a visa waiver agreement. Nationals of countries with a visa waiver may stay in Norway for up to three months.

The countries with which Norway has a visa waiver agreement are:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bermuda (BDTC passport), Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong (SAR passport), Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korean Republic, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau (SAR passport), Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, Uruguay, USA, Vatican State, Venezuela.

Diplomatic, Service & Special Passports

Holders of the following diplomatic, service and special passports are exempted from the visa requirement:

• Albanian diplomatic passport (only applies to ambassador accredited to Norway and the ambassador’s spouse and children);
• Philippine diplomatic, service and special passports;
• Macedonian diplomatic and service passports;
• Moroccan diplomatic, service and special passports;
• Pakistani diplomatic and service passports;
• Russian diplomatic passport (only applies to ambassador accredited to Norway and the ambassador’s spouse and children);
• South African diplomatic and service passports;

See more information on the next page... (next)





copyrights ©
2019 | Policy